giovedì 19 Maggio 2022
Breaking News
Home > Bclnews > The 35th Annual NASWA Winter SWL Festival – March 4-5, 2022

The 35th Annual NASWA Winter SWL Festival – March 4-5, 2022

March 4-5, 2022, Online using the Zoom webinar platform.

The Winter SWL Fest is a conference of radio hobbyists of all stripes, from DC to daylight. Historically, every year scores of hobbyists have descended on the Philadelphia, Pennsylvania suburbs for a weekend of camaraderie. The Fest is sponsored by NASWA, the North American Shortwave Association, but it covers much more than just shortwave; mediumwave (AM), scanning, satellite TV, and pirate broadcasting are among the other topics that the Fest covers. Whether you’ve been to every Fest (all 34, starting with the first year at the fabled Pink & Purple Room of the Fiesta Motor Inn) or this year’s will be your first, you’re sure to find a welcome from your fellow hobbyists, even if it’s a “virtual” welcome!.

In 2022, the 35th Annual (!!) Winter SWL Fest will again be going virtual courtesy of the Covid-19 pandemic. All activities will be conducted online via the Zoom webinar platform.

Registration will be $10 per computer screen to defray the Zoom hosting expenses. If you already have a PayPal ID you can simply send $10 from your account to swlfest [at] naswa.net. If you aren’t a PayPal member you may also register online via PayPal here. Paper registrations will not be processed for 2022.

Your hosts, Richard Cuff and John Figliozzi, work throughout the year to ensure that attendees have a great time over the weekend, and by all accounts, they succeed stunningly. How else could this event have lasted for 35 years (egad) — even with a Pandemic — and draw people from around the world to southeastern Pennsylvania? Won’t you join us.

http://www.swlfest.com/
(via Mike Terry via shortwave io group)

2022 35th (!?) Winter SWL Fest Program and Forums Schedule

 “VIRTUAL” WINTER SWL FEST PROGRAM

 All sessions except the “Shindig” nominally one-hour but may run longer or shorter at the option of the presenter.

virtual hospitality room, sponsored by the Canadian International DX Club (CIDX) will be open over the course of the event.  Announcements and instructions will be provided along the way.  (You’re on your own for snacks and drinks, however, since we haven’t yet been able to figure out a way to make these items available through ZOOM.  We’re still working on it, though!)

Please note!!!  This schedule is accurate as of January 19th; but is still in preparation, not final, and therefore subject to revision.

Friday, March 4, 2022 (UTC)

1800 UTC / 1300 EST / 1000 PST / 1900 CET / 0500 (Sat.) AEDT

“Setting Up Your Monitoring Post [or] How to Wire Yourself into a Corner Without Really Trying.” – Tom Swisher

We may trust in God and monitor all others, but we still need a monitoring post from which to do it. Your monitoring post can be as simple or as complicated as you want it to be, and if you really want to wire yourself into a corner, you can do that too.

1930 UTC / 1430 EST / 1130 PST / 2030 CET / 0630 (Sat.) AEDT

Famous Hams Past and Present – Skip Arey N2EI

(Description Pending)

2100 UTC / 1600 EST / 1300 PST / 2200 CET / 0800 (Sat.) AEDT

The Free Radio Forum – Larry Will

(Description Pending)

Saturday, March 5th, 2022 (UTC)

0300 UTC / 2200 (Fri.) EST / 1900 (Fri.) PST / 0400 CET / 1400 AEDT

The Shortwave Shindig in Exile (Again!) – David Goren

From a secret location: David’s annual freeform extended celebration of the medium. This time it shapes up like this:

0300– Shortwave-related music videos, a review of radio-related bit and bobs from the past year, and an update on the Brooklyn Pirate Radio Sound Map.

0400—Shortwaves/Long Distance (more information to come)

The Shindig will be broadcast “live” on WRMI 7570 kHz. From 0300-0600 UTC.

———

1445 UTC / 0945 EST / 0645 PST / 1545 CET / 0145 (Sun.) AEDT

What’s the EDXC Up To? – Chrissy Brand, Secretary General, European DX Council (EDXC)  

(Description Pending)

1530 UTC / 1030 EST / 0730 PST / 1630 CET / 0230 (Sun.) AEDT

A Session on European DXing To Be Announced

1800 UTC / 1300 EST / 1000 PST / 1900 CET / 0500 (Sun.) AEDT

A Radio Journey Across Seven Continents – Bruce Churchill 

What started as a simple exposition of my hobby memoirs and a collection of QSL cards over my years in the hobby morphed into a pseudo geography-history story as I looked beyond just the QSL cards to what they represented – history in the making as colonial empires (especially in Africa and SE Asia) collapsed and many new countries were created in the 1960’s and beyond. I also realized that many young people in today’s generation do not really understand “social/cultural geography” (the study of peoples, cultures, and languages in the context of where they live). Thus, this book became an attempt to put context into our hobby and capture the cultures, languages, images, history, and geography behind the many shortwave stations that defined our hobby in the “Golden Age” of DXing (50 years from 1960 to 2010).

2000 UTC / 1500 EST / 1200 PST / 2100 CET / 0700 (Sun.) AEDT

Back to the Classics – Dan Robinson

More than 50 years later, with 100 + radios still in the stable — including some
of the top receivers ever made — Dan Robinson is going forward to the past and finding enjoyment in some of the classic receivers we all remember.  Dan will discuss some of those radios and why their features still qualify them to sit next to the top gun receivers in his shack.

2300 UTC / 1800 EST / 1500 PST / 0000 (Sun.) CET / 1000 (Sun.) AEDT

In Memoriam – Sheldon Harvey
Recognition for those friends and notables in the hobby who have passed over the last year.

2315 UTC / 1815 EST / 1515 PST / 0015 (Sun.) CET / 1015 (Sun.) AEDT

The Radio Hobby: The Changing State of What We Do – Sheldon Harvey and Gilles Letourneau

Tired of hearing about stations leaving shortwave; how radio is dying; and that there’s nothing to listen to out there? Are you concerned about what the future holds for what we do as radio hobbyists?  Well, the future is now!  Two Canadians, from Montreal, discuss how they have been working hard to address the challenge and will suggest some innovative ways to make what we do interesting for newcomers and for seasoned veterans alike, using a wide variety of tools and vehicles.